Tackling Technology

One of the hardest things I found during internship was finding interesting and interactive activities for students to use that meets the curricular outcomes. I think it can be very daunting to simply google a term and hope to find something. I know that incorporating technology is important because young people are very technology centered. I found that there was pressure to be ahead of the trend in order to keep students engaged. Personally that was not productive for me, I am a firm believer in asking questions and asking for help. Once you ask you start to build a network of useful tools.

Some useful tools I liked to use in the classroom were:

  1. https://getkahoot.com/
  2. http://www.socrative.com/
  3. http://web.geogebra.org/

After using these things and seeing how engaged the students were the idea of finding interesting and engaging technology became much less daunting. There are plenty of sources that say incorporating technology is beneficial, such as the following website: Advantages of using Technology in the Classroom After experiencing and putting all the things I’ve been told into practice I was able to see how great the use of technology is and how engaged students become.

One thought on “Tackling Technology

  1. Thank you for this blog post Lydia. I am only in my second year and I think that finding appropriate tools to use and engage the students may be a challenge. I appreciate reading what worked for you in your internship. I will add those three tools to my list to try when I am out in the field. Hopefully it will help this task seem less daunting to me too.

Leave a Reply

