Week Five of ECS 410

This week focused on assessment, and specifically on assessment through the use of rubrics. Rubrics are a good way to have expectations clearly laid out for students. Also when you don not assign a grade to that rubric it can be a great way to track the progress of the students, and it clearly shows them where their learning is at, and how they can approve upon their learning. The following link highlights the benefits and challenges that can arise when using rubrics: https://teaching.unsw.edu.au/assessment-rubrics. Though making rubrics can be challenging, in the end they are a great way to track students progress, and a great way to show where a student has room to improve.

When I enter into the classroom I hope to be able to use more rubrics rather then assign grades to every assignment. I think a lot of students may struggle with this, similar to the students in the Dylan Wiliams video, it would most likely be new for most students. However I believe the movement away from having a grade assigned to everything is a much needed change. I think one of the hardest parts for teachers would be the actual construction of the rubric, but there are so many resources out there that we can use and adjust to better suite our expectations. The following link has a variety of rubrics for a variety of different assignments: http://edtechteacher.org/assessment/.

The presentation we had on Thursdays class, where we were showed the website Digital Learner Solutions, was amazing. The resource he provided us with is something I see myself using in the future, and something I will be sharing with friends.I think that when we are shown resources like these it is important to try them and see how they can work best for ourselves. I think this resource would work well, because of all the content within it.

One thought on “Week Five of ECS 410

  1. I like your emphasis on the idea of not giving a grade when using a rubric. I think it is very important for students to focus more on where they are at and what they need to improve on rather than what percentage they received. I know myself personally when a rubric was handed back with a grade attached I never even glanced at the rubric. As soon as my grade was assigned my learning on that specific topic was done as far as I was concerned.

Leave a Reply

